Liars “Mess”

Listening to this album makes me feel cool. Like the way you (okay maybe just me) felt in high school tromping around the mall with your gang and harassing the employees. The idea that someday you’re going to grow up and wear chic black outfits, chain smoke, get drunk and go to amazing concerts–because obviously that’s the dream.  Giggle.

This album’s opener “Mask Maker” is a nice first kick. I love this gritty opening samples which remind me of saying random things into a sequencer and just having fun with it. And actually, this is basically the vibe of the whole song for me. The vocals that cut in about halfway through the track are very Death From Above 1979-esque in all the best ways.

“Vox Tuned D.E.D.” and “Darkslide” are saucy, nondescript, goth-club thumpers that are lovable all the same.

Not bad, but skippable tracks: “Can’t Hear Well,” “Boyzone,” & “Dress Walker.”

Probably my fav track at this point is “Pro Anti Anti.” A BIG part of this is Angus Andrew’s super deep bleating, laced over with delicate “ohhahhhs” and punctuated by rhythmic breath noises. Plus, the lyrics are super…broody.

“Mess On a Misson” just makes me giggle. The “uh-huhs” are fun, plus whenever I sing it my husband starts doing the “uh-huhs” from Devendra Banhart’s “Chinese Children” in some sort of live-mash-up. Plus whenever the crazed “A mess on a mission” line is going I keep imagining muppets running around waving their arms in a frenzy.

“Perpetual Village” is the track that I forget to love.  It’s like exploring an electric swamp or maybe doing some VNV Nation Tai-Chi. It’s a nice groove with good build up.

“Left Speaker Blown” is actually a pretty nice outro track. I’m not entirely sure it was meant that way, but to my mix-CD-master ears it’s a nice wrap up to the album. Delicate and has just enough bittersweet to make you drift of into some personal reverie and forget the album’s stopped.

“I’m No Gold” has such a crunchy vibe. As an aside, the video is weirdly hysterical and definitely worth watching a chunk of if you really need to waste some of your life on YouTube. I love the faux-breakdown into trill thing that’s happening a couple minutes into the track. Which really is just one example of what this whole album encompasses for me as a dance-goth-rock-whatever, this band is still doing an amazing job of balancing the predictable electronic loops with just enough surprise to keep your rocking your head and making to-cool-for-school pouting faces.

My soul was searching for a great dance album; the prayer was answered. Thanks dance gods.

Liars “Mess”

Leave a Reply

