New to the Library: “Pop for You” Junglepussy

https://i1.wp.com/www.thestylecon.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/46173ccaa068235ffc9a795c7a724eb7.1000x667x11.jpg

The first time I listened to this song, I wasn’t taking it very seriously. I was just enjoying the beats and her nasally delivery and then across my ears came…:

“I knew this one thoughtful motherfucker
He came from planet goodnigga or some shit
This dude deadass took me to the zoo
The zoo? The zoo.
Last nigga bought me leopard print lingerie and I’m like I got niggas taking me to see live animals and you pullin up with animal prints?”

This. Woman. Somehow mixing together humor with all the fucking problems and not coming off “angry.” Just done with the bullshit.

The snaps are 90’s cafe. The ringtone-turned-beat is 200o’s ATL. The attitude is “fuck you and that fuckboy smile you rode in on.” Best empowering break up jam I’ve heard in a while.

5/5

Black Girl Magic: We go to 11.

New to the Library: “Pop for You” Junglepussy

Leave a Reply

